Georgia

Greetings from the Bible Belt!

Right now, my mom and I are in Augusta with her cousin, Starr. The past two nights (and every other night after this) we have been in the small town of Watkinsville with my grandmother. It’s hot and humid, but we’ve been inside a lot.

The first night was a lot of fun. My mom’s brother and his wife and their kids met us there around 9:00 at night. I haven’t seen any of them in six years, and my baby cousins are teenagers now. They’re still super sweet girls, but I won’t get to see much of them because school is starting. We all sat around the living room chatting until midnight. My youngest saw a cockroach, and the three of us freaked out. That’s not really an issue in Portland.

The evening took a turn for the worse when we went to bed. I tossed and turned until about 4am. It was the first night since before the wedding Kenny and I slept apart, and I didn’t like it at all.

The next night morning we all went to the Cracker Barrel, which was not as good as I remember, but the company was great fun. I had the chicken fried steak, dumplin’s (per the menu’s spelling), green beans, and mashed potatoes.

20130805-171112.jpg

The rest of the day was spent in the mountains somewhere, mostly in the car since my grandmother was there and my mom’s back is injured.

20130805-172325.jpg

Now we are all sitting in the living room at Starr’s house and I’m awkwardly writing this entry because it’s the first time I’ve had working Internet. Earlier we went to a Japanese/Mexican restaurant (we’ve got Korean/Mexican in Portland so this wasn’t that much of a shock) called Takosushi.

20130805-171934.jpg

It’s cute, right? It also was the perfect opportunity to start teaching my mom how to use chopsticks. With practice, she’ll get it right.

20130805-172103.jpg

After that we drive through Augusta looking at old houses. I tried to get some good pictures but through the car window it wasn’t easy.

20130805-173229.jpg

Perhaps the coolest part of the trip is when we saw two fawn nursing. I didn’t catch a picture of that because it was too dark, but I did get a good one of a deer just staring at me outside my grandmother’s house.

20130805-173521.jpg

I apologize if there are a bunch of typos in this post. I’m writing this as fast as I can on an iPad. Back to the family now!

Leave a Reply

