My Family’s Past

Over the course of the week in Georgia, my mom and I had the chance to revisit some of my parents’ past. This was one of the real highlights of the trip.

Here’s my mom’s house when she was growing up (Athens, GA):

20130811-125724.jpg

My dad’s when he was growing up (Athens, GA):

20130811-125811.jpg

My mom’s house in college that she rented with some friends  (Bishop, GA):

20130811-125853.jpg

Here’s the river at Memorial Park my mom and her two friends used to hang out at:

20130811-125921.jpg

And here’s one my mom’s aforementioned friends (Deirdre) and one of the nicest, coolest people I met this week. In this picture, the three of us are at The Last Resort in downtown Athens. Despite the restaurant name, this was by far the best meal we had. Sorry for how dark the photo is.

20130811-130146.jpg

After dinner we went to Deirdre’s house and met her husband and bunnies, and looked at all the artwork she’s created and collected.

20130811-125752.jpg

20130811-123250.jpg

As demonstrated by the above image, She might (might) be more obsessed with Bemelmans (anyone read Madeline as a child?) than me. I was very jealous. I need to get some artwork.

2 thoughts on “My Family’s Past

  1. deirdreellenDeirdre

    Oh Dana, I already miss you and Carol so much! Your visit was the highlight of my year. Try to make it an annual visit. Best of luck to you on your wonderful new chapter in Japan. I’m very proud of you … (can I say that or is that weird?!?) At any rate, thrilled to meet the fine daughter that Downing and Carol have brought into our world. Hugs always.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

