Food Adventures

In my last post, I didn’t do justice to the food I’ve been eating. This will make up for it.

These are 梨 (nashi or “Asian pears”). They’re delicious. I could eat a hundred at one time. So sweet, so juicy, and so cheap if bought from the farmer’s market across the street.

20130902-085014.jpg

This will disgust many of you. It’s udon, green onion, and one raw egg yolk. It’s delicious, don’t knock it till you try it. Eggs, like many things, are held to a higher standard in Japan than they are in the states. Plus, we Americans are just prudes. It’s very tasty and it’s all I want for dinner.

20130902-085029.jpg

Unfortunately, it’s not easy to see what this is. On the day my parents had to put down my cat of 15 years (Stripes), Kenny surprised me with what I suppose was tiramisu from a sweet shop downtown. It was about $2, and the perfect size.

20130902-085124.jpg

This is also a bit too dark to clearly see, but that’s okay because a clearer picture wouldn’t help anyway. It’s 焼き鳥 (yakitori), or pieces of chicken on a stick (sounds classy, I know). It’s super cheap, and very filling. I’d learn how to make it myself but it’s so cheap and the place is about 20 meters away, so it’s just not worth it. Besides, I probably couldn’t make it any better.

20130902-085132.jpg

Milk tea. It’s tea, with milk, in a bottle, from a vending machine. It’s extremely addictive and even better in the winter when you can buy it warm. Mmm.

20130902-085140.jpg

Yes, Japan has instant ramen, too. The main difference is that it’s better.

20130902-085253.jpg

See what I mean? Better. A lot better. More green onions and more raw egg. Usually we poach the egg when we make instant ramen, but this stove is a lot stronger than what we’re used to so we’re struggling to get the timing right. I would rather have it raw than overcooked.

20130902-085222.jpg

I’ve been telling people about this since I was in Japan two years ago. This is bread filled up with cheese. You can’t have a conversation with me about food without cheese coming up. I love cheese. If you’re trying to find a food to give me, make sure it has cheese in it. I eat cheese at least once virtually every day. We have cheese bread in America, but not like this. Usually it’s more bread this cheese. This is like a bread bowl, but instead of chowder, there’s cheese. Genius!

20130902-085235.jpg

The first weekend we got here I was craving American food. Because we’re in a beach town, it’s really easy to find. So I got these “philly cheesesteak sandwich.” It was far from a traditional cheesesteak, but it was still very good. The beef was not like beef you’d find at a burger place in the states. Notice the Lays next to it? They were stamped “imported.” Fancy! It’s funny because no one specifies what kind of chips they want with their food at this place. The kitchens picks for you.

20130902-085313.jpg

It figures you’d have to go all the way to Japan to find a really good milkshake. Not quite Jim and Patty’s in Portland, but pretty darn close. Mmm. If we go back to this place (and we will), we’ll probably just split a burger and get milkshakes.

20130902-085244.jpg

And here’s a more ridiculous (but still good) dessert bought across the street at 7/11. It’s called a Jumbo. It’s two waffles surrounding vanilla ice cream with a sheet of chocolate in the middle. This was a dollar, had only about 300 calories, and was extremely filling. How do they do that here?!

20130902-085322.jpg

More on 7/11 later. Convenient stores in Japan are not heavily stigmatized like they are in the states. The food they serve is actually decent, they’re cheap, and you can buy everything from concert tickets to spaghetti, pay your bills at the counter, and wire money back to the states. Pretty convenient.

3 thoughts on “Food Adventures

Leave a Reply

