Shabu-shabu (among other things)

Yes, yes. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted. Shame on me. It’s not like nothing has been happening, either. We spent a day sightseeing around Tokyo and went to the international film festival where we got to see Tom Hanks do a Q&A. There was a largish typhoon, but it was nowhere near as bad as the recent one in the Philippines. But you see, I’ve started doing these 10k walks every morning around the time I’d be updating my blog. I prefer to update in the morning because I suspect I’ll get more readers if I post in the afternoons for everyone back home. Today I’m trying something new. It’s 1:41 PM on November 12th here in Japan (8:41PM on November 11th in Oregon), but I won’t post until tomorrow morning my time. Confused? Don’t worry about it. It’s not important.

Here’s a couple pictures from our day trip to Tokyo. It was 2-3 weeks ago, so there aren’t many just because it feels too late to talk about it now.

20131112-133221.jpg

20131112-133242.jpg

The typhoon actually hit the day before our trip to Tokyo. We weren’t worried because it always seems like the day after the typhoon the weather is gorgeous. That day was no exception. We didn’t get many great pictures of the typhoon itself because…well…we didn’t want to be outside. We tried taking video but it doesn’t look great. But I thought I’d post a recent picture of what the typhoon left behind a couple weeks later.

20131112-133254.jpg

The river in Ichinomiya overflowed and left my usual walking route under water. By the time it cleared out, it was (and is) too muddy to walk across. Though some brave souls are still doing it, I don’t want to muddy up my only pair of tennis shoes.

Kenny’s birthday was last Friday, so we used it as an excuse to get shabu-shabu. A similar concept exists in the states at fondue restaurants. You cook meat and veggies in a hot pot at your table. It’s delicious and we left stuffed.

20131112-133317.jpg

20131112-133334.jpg

After cooking the meat, there are three dipping sauces (below) to choose from: raw egg, sesame sauce, and ponzu. Kenny and I like them all, but our favorite is sesame sauce. Mmmm. Food.

20131112-133344.jpg

I’ll post again soon!

One thought on “Shabu-shabu (among other things)

Leave a Reply

